About Transition

Transition to ICR4 / ICB4

PMA Cert, Certification Body of PMA India, will be changing over to ICR4/ICB4 with effect from 1st July 2019 and as per IPMA transition principles, PMA Cert will issue certificates based on ICR4 / ICB4 (IPMA International Certification Regulations Version 4 / IPMA Individual Competence Baseline Fourth Edition) with effect from 1st July 2019.

The ICR4 has been developed and prepared by subject matter experts of the Certification Validation and Management Board (CVMB) of IPMA using the structure and intent of ISO/IEC 17024:2012 as its basis, with the objective of achieving and promoting a globally accepted basis for IPMA Member Associations operating certification of persons.

The IPMA ICR serves as the basis for the recognition within IPMA of the CBs and their certification schemes in order to facilitate acceptance of their results at the national and international levels. It provides a consistent and globally recognized framework for the assessment and recognition of competence in project, programme and portfolio management.

The Member Associations (MAs) and CBs of IPMA have agreed to use the same set of principles, procedures, structures and regulations to carry out their certification practice.

The ICB4 is a global standard that defines the competences required by individuals working in the fields of project, programme and portfolio management. Within the IPMA 4 Level Certification, the ICB4 serves as the baseline for assessments.

The ICB4 represents a major advancement for successful, modern project, programme and portfolio management. The ICB4 takes the Eye of Competence into the next generation, with a redefinition of the Competence Elements (CEs) required by the modern project manager. 29 CEs are organized in 3 competence areas.

People competences: personal interpersonal competences (10 CEs)

  1. Self-reflection and self-management
  2. Personal integrity and reliability
  3. Personal communication
  4. Relations and engagement
  5. Leadership
  6. Teamwork
  7. Conflict and crisis
  8. Resourcefulness
  9. Negotiation
  10. Results orientation

Practice competences: specific methods, tools & techniques (14 CEs)

  1. A project, programme or portfolio Design
  2. Goals, objectives and benefits
  3. Scope
  4. Time
  5. Organization and information
  6. Quality
  7. Finance
  8. Resources
  9. Procurement
  10. Plan and control
  11. Risk and opportunity
  12. Stakeholders
  13. Change and transformation
  14. Select and balance

Perspective competences: methods, tools & techniques through which individuals interact with the environment as well as the rationale that leads people, organizations, societies to start and support projects, programmes and portfolios (5 CEs)

  1. The Strategy
  2. Governance, structures and processes
  3. Compliance, standards and regulations
  4. The informal Power and interest
  5. The culture and values

The IPMA ICB will help us to achieve a world in which all projects succeed.


Your Email*:


Quick Query: